Fresh water and salt water fly fishing in New Zealand and Australia. Brought to you by Riverworks waders, wading boots, vests, jackets, fly rods and reels.

Alex Broad – Finally, I did it!


After a long obsession with catching a cook straight sailfish (barracouta) on fly I finally managed to land one on the weekend.

This is one species that no matter what I’ve tried in the past I’ve had absolutely no luck with.

Saturday was an awesome day weather wise, Our storeman Leigh is an avid saltwater fisho and offered to take me out on his boat for a session on the gurnard in the harbour.  He was slaying the gurnard on soft baits, so I pulled out the fly rod.  The first couple casts and drifts were uneventful, but then I hooked into something, only to loose it.  The teeth marks in my leader only meant one thing.  Wire bite tippet applied and a new flashy fly, a few casts later I had one hitting the fly but my strip strikes weren’t connecting.  Finally, at my feet he took the fly on the surface in one of the most ferocious takes Ive ever had fly fishing.

He then managed to take my entire fly line in seconds, I got most of the line back almost as quickly, before we landed him in a rather unorthodox way, care of the anchor rope.

Not the biggest couta in the sea, but I was stoked to finally get one under the belt.  I will in no doubt be attempting to catch a few more over the winter.

Cheers,

Alex.

 

 

 

6 responses

  1. Dundee

    Very cool thats a nice ugly fish….Any good too eat?

    June 27, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    • Dundee,
      Some people eat them, not for me, the flesh quite often has worms in it. They fight pretty well when you first hook em, fight super dirty tangling everything up and they have sharp teeth, so I like catching them. They do make superb Puka bait.

      June 28, 2011 at 8:57 am

  2. Lucas Allen

    Nice one Al, I’m still not sorry for taking the ‘couta cherry on your own rod all those years ago (it was a fluke after all). Keep up the practice on those worm infested sailfish, it’ll be needed for the coro kingis next summer (lock it in). Lucas

    June 27, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    • Lucas, no hard feelings mate, I think you just spawned my obsession with these toothy critters and made me more determined to catch one! Now I just want bigger fish with bigger teeth!

      June 28, 2011 at 8:54 am

  3. Nice Al! I know how long you’ve been wanting that one for!

    June 27, 2011 at 9:36 am

  4. Very nice!

    *Every now and again this blog seems to eats my comments 😦

    June 27, 2011 at 9:29 am

Leave a comment