Fresh water and salt water fly fishing in New Zealand and Australia. Brought to you by Riverworks waders, wading boots, vests, jackets, fly rods and reels.

Andrew Hearne – Its not about the fish.


Well we went fishing again this week… twice.

Tuesday was pretty tough going, with most of the fish we found not really willing to play our game.

The weather forecast for today was looking pretty good, so we decided to have another go, and hopefully maker a better job of things.

It isn’t always about the fish though, all I really wanted was a good day out. As it turned out, it was a pretty fun day on the river.

As usual, the weather wasn’t quite as good as it could have been… it was a bit grey all over, but at least it wasn’t windy.

 

It wasn’t all that long and Jack found a fish against our bank. It took a couple of casts, but the fish played ball.

 

That’s a pretty good bend in the rod. This fish went hell for leather from the beginning.

A pretty good start to the day really.

We carried on up and I hooked one myself, which also went hell for leather… unfortunately my disability prevented me from landing the fish. Yup, my busted finger got in the way and became tangled in the line and the fish broke me off. It continued jumping for quite a while afterwards, obviously it wasn’t all that keen on the new addition to its face.

I didn’t let that speedbump get me down, I found another fish. Just as I was casting to it another one came down towards me so I redirected and put the fly in front of it. As it got near I lifted the fly off the bottom and the fish swam onto it and opened its gob right up. I struck, and it was game on again.

I quickly suggested to jack he might want to be on my side of the river to fish for the other one, which, coincidentally looked to be about twice the size of the one I had on the end of my line. I kindly hung on to my fish for dear life while jack made his way over… my fly line got tied around some bushes during the fight, so even if I wanted to let the fish take line I wouldn’t have been able to. How my rod didn’t snap in half I’ll never know…

I landed it on a small clump of dirt, not ideal really but it was the best I could do. It wasn’t a great location for a photo either.

The big boy must have been a bit stirred up from all the commotion, because he took off pretty quickly when we made our way up to him. Not to worry, we’ll find him again.

At one point we had to negotiate a bit of matagouri bush, which involved climbing halfway up the side of a rather large hill. At some point along the side of the hill Jack found a fish in the water, and since I was closest, he nominated me to climb down and smash through the bushes to try and catch it.

I did catch it. However, it looked way bigger from up on the hill. It was a nice enough little brownie, but didn’t quite warrant the effort required for a photo at that point.

I had yet another turn after that. By now the sun was trying to poke through the clouds, and the conditions were really good. I was fishing the eye of a nice pool when I hooked a bohemoth of a rainbow.

Look at him, what a beauty!

I had to really show this fish who was the boss… I think it got the picture pretty quickly.

In the end I just let him away with a warning, and he swam free to think about what had just taken place.

Time for Jack to give it a crack.

He had to throw a long cast, virtually to the other side. He got it right straight away and was on again.

 

This really is a pretty cool place to be on a nice day.

This fish was a bit like a bat straight out of hell too, it took some beating.

 

We both hooked another rainbow each after that. They were of similar size to this one and they both got off. My one escaped just after I told Jack I would make it jump for the camera… and his one escaped just as quickly. The precise moment Jack’s one popped off, the wind went from non existent to about warp factor 3 in an instant.

We’d had our fun for the day, and it was time to go home…

 

Leave a Reply

