Fresh water and salt water fly fishing in New Zealand and Australia. Brought to you by Riverworks waders, wading boots, vests, jackets, fly rods and reels.

Jack Kos – Long live the long weekend!


I was starting to wonder if working 9-5 had many advantages from a fishing point of view. Then came a little something called Wellington Anniversary and a weekend filled with 3 days of backcountry fishing in some truly stunning spots.

I drove up after work on Friday and made it to the river rather late after being shouted a meal by the hitchhiker I picked up in Otaki (cheers Andrew!). It took a couple of red bulls to get me there, but excitement was peaking when I arrived. Isaac had been there for a couple of hours and jumped at the suggestion of a night fish. Fish is a rather inclusive term, as Isaac proceeded to demonstrate. Despite putting a bend in his rod this wasn’t quite what we were after:

A few casts later he got absolutely smoked by something that certainly wasn’t an eel. Unfortunately this was the pattern for the biggest fish of the trip.

Eventually, after removing my somewhat ambitious mouse fly and putting on a streamer, I struck into something solid. It wasn’t quite the spirited fight I hoped for, but more a dogged resistance. When the fish made it to the net we understood why.

Jandals all the way. It would have been a spectacular fish in good condition, but times didn’t favour it at the moment. Still…my trip was underway.

We struggled at our intended spot the following morning, so bounced around a few locations before settling on a river. Only problem was, how in gods name were we meant to get down to it? Our problem was solved in the form of Bob, who we serendipitously met on a dirt track in the middle of nowhere. He gave us a couple of hints which we eagerly took up.

After a bush bash and a half we arrived at the river and immediately got into fish on bright and flashy nymphs.

This bow was so pretty that I convinced Isaac to hold my fish for a photo…

After that I picked up a couple more rainbows that fought like banshees with a firecracker somewhere painful.

Then I notice Isaac has a pretty serious bend in his rod. And that this one was taking a little longer to get in than the others. Curious, I thought. So I landed my fish, took the snaps and went up to discover that he had a really rather good fish on the line. Two man netting team did the damage and he landed the fish of the trip.

We picked up a few more after that, but nothing of note. Except for that ENORMOUS bow that inhaled Isaac’s stonefly…but that’s not a happy story. I also learned the benefit of a wading stick after gracelessly pirouetting more times than I care to remember. Should have worn the wading boots!

The next day followed in a similar vein with a steady stream of good fish without anything spectacular. I dropped what was certainly the fish of the day after a confident rise to my royal wulff.

Isaac landed this nice fish after one hell of a battle.

They punch well above their weight!

By this stage I was getting rather frustrated at dropping a good fish, falling over and being inept at casting.

Hello antidote.

That afternoon we got the squall we had been expecting. Fishing through the rain I picked up a couple of OK fish and Isaac landed several good ones. Unfortunately the camera didn’t come out for that one.

The next morning awoke clear but with a bitter cold. After a quick trip around the campground to find someone with jumper leads to jump start Isaac’s car we hit the road. This was one of those rare trips where we saved the best till last. Bush bashing through overgrown tracks for two hours saw us eventually emerge battered and bruised to a crystal clear little stream with well defined pools and runs. The excitement was tangible.

Sneaking our way up the first run we sighted the quarry. This was the first chance for real sight fishing during the trip and we capitalised on it. Casting a large blowfly humpy with a trailing nymph ahead of a feeding fish brought about immediate results. The fish rose in the column intent on eating my dry. The take was slow and my strike was patient. It was at about this moment that Isaac started mumbling something about a tangle. That’s fine I thought, he could untangle his rig after I landed my fish. Then I looked down to see that this was a team effort tangle. As I hauled for the final cast I caught his fly which proceeded to loop around my line. Well, there’s nothing like an excuse to fight a fish hard. Giving line just wasn’t an option. After a few hairy moment I guided a great rainbow to the net.

Yep, this one made me happy.

Two pools up we came across a beautiful thing…free rising trout. I refused to let Isaac fish to this one with the nymph, so he reluctantly tied on a big rubber legged cicada. It only took two drifts before snout broke surface and the dance began. After catching mostly browns for the past few years I’d forgotten how good a real rainbow fight is. Isaac was sure enjoying this one.

After the fish was released we saw a sizeable eel doing the rounds and harassing the 10 or so fish in this pool. They seemed to forget about us while concentrating on the eel, and after he left them they promptly returned to the feed.

Making the most of this memory wipe I quickly landed two great bows in pretty quick succession.

The count, as we left that pool, stood at three great rainbows all caught whilst standing on the same rock.

Fish got a little fewer and further between after that, but they were there nonetheless. It seemed to be my day as an errant cast brought this fish to the fly.

By this stage it was late in the day and we had a long walk ahead of us. It was hard to turn around knowing we were leaving behind more great fishing, but the fact that we’d had such a great day so far made it that little bit easier. We did stop off briefly on the walk and Isaac managed to hook a solid bow from a difficult spot, but it stormed through the pool and utilised the prominent rock to full effect.

I was pretty stoked to see the car after that walk. Red bulls in the chilly bin went down a treat. It was a long drive home and a very welcoming bed.

Cheers Isaac for a great trip!

6 responses

  1. bob

    Gidday Jack
    Im that bloke Bob, have got plenty more fishing up this way, would like to show you some easier ways down in the future, and we’ll go higher up river too eh?

    January 31, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    • Sorry Bob, I only just saw this now. Yep I’d definitely like to catch up for a fish at some stage. That first spot you put us onto was a beauty. Nothing like hard access rewarded with great fishing!

      February 16, 2012 at 11:32 pm

      • bob

        Nice one Jack
        My cousin has a good place just 20min from here, he has the very upper reaches where the three rivers meet. (thats where those 6pounders are i was talkn about) , as i said im a bit of a novice (learning off you tube n self taught) so would love to learn some tricks from you in exchange for some great fishin spots. (i take it you have my e-mail address???) Drop us a line if you do……………untill then…….keep it tight

        February 19, 2012 at 10:44 am

      • Sounds great Bob. Probably won’t be able to this summer, but I’ll get in touch next season when I’m back up in Wellington.

        February 23, 2012 at 8:45 am

  2. Good job boys, that’s some good fishing right there. Nice work.

    January 25, 2012 at 8:51 pm

  3. Nice one Jack. Good to see you got some fishing in.

    Cheers,
    Rob

    January 25, 2012 at 8:21 pm

Leave a Reply

