Fresh water and salt water fly fishing in New Zealand and Australia. Brought to you by Riverworks waders, wading boots, vests, jackets, fly rods and reels.

John Maulder – Wading Boot Review


This is a letter given to me by a former store owner. John has been great at giving feedback over the years. Below is a letter from John on the Riverworks XRT Wading boots.

Hi Robert,

Well another season has finished and it is time to drop you a line on the performance of the XRT Wading Boot that I purchased in December 2010.

Since December through to June 30, 2011 I have clocked up just on 450 hours, no mean feat but they have covered bush walking, cutting tracks, coastal estuaries, Hawke’s Bay rivers right through to back country streams covering mud, sand, boulders and stones.
During this time I found the boots extremely comfortable and supportive, even after a 10 hour day they were still great to have on. The total design of the boot gives you maximum support from the balls of your feet right through to your ankles. The hexaform inner sole was especially noticeable when boulder hopping, cushioning the shock allowing the feet to take less impact during each step. Just a quick note, I do wear neoprene inners when I am not in breathables which does give a little extra cushioning. I have even used them during a morning hunt before continuing a fishing afternoon saving weight and space with no effect.
The only downside which is only minor, is that I am onto my third lot of studs. I find the soft nature of these tends to wear them out a little quicker than usual. Maybe a stainless stud will help solve this and a loss of weight on my part! Looking at the boot as I write it is hard to see any exccessive wear from either the uppers or soles for the hours I have spent in them.

Robert, I would not have any hesitation in recommending these boots to anybody who wants 100% satisfaction from an excellent product that will serve them well in the years to come.

I know you are continually trying to improve through research and development on all your products you source and I wish you all the very best in the years to come.

Kindest regards,

John Maulder

6 responses

  1. andrew allan

    I recently bought these for a trip to a NZ river where, over 6 trips, I have worn out Korkors and Simms boots over a week or so of use. Amazingly, they largely survived the trip! The boots were extemely comfortable, and the sole grip was extraordinary – ?better than felt – and at least the soles didn’t continually fall off like my previous Korkers x 3 pairs did. They provided far better wear and grip than my Simms aquastealth, which survived 2 trips. The main issues I had with lace abrasion and seam wear have been dealt with extemely efficiently by the manufacturer, and lace wear is easily emedied in the field anyway. They are the best boots I have used to date on this river. I’m told I’m VVV hard on boots…..!

    Andrew Allan

    February 11, 2012 at 10:19 pm

    • Thank you for the positive feedback Andrew.

      I was in the Karamea last week neat country in there!

      Tight Lines
      Rob

      February 17, 2012 at 1:21 pm

  2. Kerry

    Ditto to that, still comfy, still getting thrashed. Lost most of the studs around the outer edges, guess they tend to ping out a bit easier, so carry a trekking pole for the extra slippery bits. Would and have recommended them to other fishos.

    Kerry

    January 25, 2012 at 7:45 am

    • Hi Kerry,

      Pleased to hear your boots are going well.

      If you want some extra studs flick me an email rob@evolveoutdoors.co.nz, I have a few spare packs.

      Cheers,
      Rob

      January 25, 2012 at 8:03 pm

  3. Couldn’t agree more. Mine are well and truly thrashed, yet still are super comfy and showing no signs of weakness.

    January 24, 2012 at 11:08 am

Leave a Reply

