Fresh water and salt water fly fishing in New Zealand and Australia. Brought to you by Riverworks waders, wading boots, vests, jackets, fly rods and reels.

Andrew Hearne – Funday Monday


The crusade continues.

In case anybody out there is wondering whether Jack is still alive… just so you know, he is. He’s pretty busy at the moment studying and writing essays etc.. That’s why you haven’t heard from him too much lately. However, he did manage to find enough time to come fishing yesterday!

After approximately four hours sleep I woke to the shrill sound of my cell phone alarm, I did my best to make sure I had everything I needed for the day before collecting Jack from around the road. For some reason he wasn’t at his place, he’d texted me an address for where I could find him the night before.

With the amount of sleep I’d had it was necessary to add a large dose of caffeine to the bill when the car was filled at the gas station. It hit the spot, and we were on the way.

We weren’t too sure where we’d stop. It would more or less come down to how windy it was in any given place. As it turned out, we found somewhere early on which wasn’t too bad. We stopped there and agreed that we would fish a short stretch, and if the wind came up as we expected it to then we would bail out and find somewhere more sheltered. This place is top secret, it is unlikely anybody reading this will recognise it and because I’ve been sworn to secrecy I can’t disclose the location. If someday you are fortunate enough to discover this place, then you are very lucky indeed!

The run we intended to fish first had another good looking piece of water beneath it, so we walked down to it and before too long Jack found a fish. Even better – he invited me to fish for it.

His rod was set up more appropriately than mine for the situation, so I took it across the river with me for the task at hand.

The first nymph I tried didn’t work. I can’t even remember what it was now, but I think it was too light and not getting deep enough. I changed to a green caddis with a black tungsten bead and it took first cast. The fish gave a good account of itself before being landed without any problems. It was a pretty good start to the day.

Great start

After that we crossed the river and climbed the bank. Straight away Jack saw another fish. This time it was his turn to get across and pretty soon after that he was connected to the fish. It was slightly smaller, but that didn’t matter. We were going great guns so far.

Another victim for the green caddis

It was pretty keen to leave when given a chance at freedom. What about that look on Jack’s face?

We continued on upstream after that and saw a few more fish. For some reason we stopped catching them though. We were pretty good at putting them off their breakfast though. We didn’t fail at that.

The last run we came to is one which I have a vivid memory of. It’s not a happy memory either. Jack went along one side while I was on the other. Just as I was nearly at the top of the run I hooked into a fish. I looked across to see Jack wandering into the distance with his back to me so I called him back. He crossed over to me near the bottom of the run where I netted the fish. It was a solid fish, but it didn’t make up for what happened there last season.

The wind was nearly howling by now, so we took off in search of somewhere more sheltered. Fortune was with us again, because we didn’t have to go far.

Along the way Jack discovered this one finning away and tricked it into eating a Coloboriscus imitation.

We found a few fish in our new spot, but not many. At least we could see what was there though and we didn’t need to worry about battling the elements.

After some failure, Jack spotted a fish in a pool as we crossed at the tail. It was good work on his part, because there was a lot of glare on the water and it was a tough one to see. He was seeing them much better than me on this day that’s for sure – I’ll use the excuse that I was tired.

Anyway, the pool has some sentimentality attached to it so it was my fish to catch. I pitched the green caddis up and I saw the fish lift in the water. When I set the hook and it was all on. The fish dove deep and went along a rock ledge on the far side, I had to really lean into it to lift it from the bottom. After a couple of good minutes the fish tired enough for me to secure it and I was a very happy man.

 

It was quite overcast by now. The forecast rain wasn’t far away and there were thousands of sandflies attempting to dine out on the exposed skin of my arms and Jacks legs. We went upstream further towards where we suspected there would be more fish. Just as we were walking along and engaged in one of our many riverside discussions I noticed a fish surfing the pressure wave in front of a rock near the tail of a small run. I performed the appropriate stop, drop, and roll while directing Jack to follow my lead.

I looked over my shoulder from on the ground and saw him walking a wide arc back downstream. He wasn’t wasting any time to get into position for this one.

There were two main obstacles to catching this fish.

  • Although it was feeding very actively, there was a consoderable drop directly below its lie and it was going to be hard work to gat a good drift
  • There was a tree in the water right next to the fish, it would go in there for sure if given half a chance

With the latter pouint in mind, I offered the best advice I could of “If it takes, rip its head off” from my seated position on the bank opposite the fish. My advice did not go unnoticed, Jack managed to get the required drift and set the hook. He did a great job of clearing the fish from close to the tree as soon as he hooked it and after that he was home and hosed. The fish gave a good fight but there was nowhere for it to go once it was clear of the obstuction.

That was all for the day. We retreated to the car and headed for home. Not bad for a Monday.

5 responses

  1. Michelle Hearne

    Always enjoy following your ventures and reading your articles online and
    in the mag.Nice photos.

    Michelle H

    October 23, 2011 at 8:41 am

  2. Hey Robert,

    we’ll do our best to try and make it so they’re all second – hand by the time you get here. Something tells me we won’t quite make it though. There should be at least a couple of fresh ones for you.

    October 18, 2011 at 9:09 pm

  3. Robert

    “Rip his head off”

    Good to see that Jack was able to get out there and do some fishing.
    Great read guys!

    29 days before I arrive, so spare some fish for me 🙂

    October 18, 2011 at 7:14 pm

  4. Harry

    Well done chaperoo’s.

    October 18, 2011 at 5:27 pm

  5. Dundee

    So jealous!Thats a great photo of the bigger trout you released.Well done guys,ya having better luck than me.

    October 18, 2011 at 4:59 pm

Leave a Reply

