Fresh water and salt water fly fishing in New Zealand and Australia. Brought to you by Riverworks waders, wading boots, vests, jackets, fly rods and reels.

Andrew Hearne – The good times keep on coming


The weather has been pretty awful since opening… it’s been raining more or less non stop.

Yesterday I decided  to just take a couple of hard pills and I ventured into the high country to see what I could find.

First of all I found dirty water, and lots of it. So I went further. Eventually I found some water which wasn’t quite as dirty as the rest… so away I went.

Over 3 hours later of walking and blind fishing the murky water in the rain and I was ready to pack it in. Then I spotted a fish. I was high up on a bank and I could see it on the near side in the bottom third of the big pool. I could tell it was big, and my heart began thumping inside my chest. I looked at the angry, swollen rapid that emptied the pool and tried to figure a game plan for if I successfully hooked the fish. It seemed to me that, if it decided to go downstream, I would need to rely on a fair bit of luck to get home with this one.

I crept down to water level and prepared to cast.

I couldn’t see the fish from where I stood because of all the glare. I snuck forward and caught another glimpse of the fish, then went back into casting position. Three times I snagged up in trees behind me before my line hit the water for the first time… somehow I managed to keep my cool each time. The first cast went untouched, and the second. I thought I’d blown it.

I wound in and crept forward again expecting the fish to be long gone, but it was still there. I cast from where I could see the fish and it moved lazily to my fly, I saw its mouth open and when it closed again I slammed the hook home.

The fish rolled on the top and I leaned into it hard. I gave it nothing in case it made it to the fast water. Then I dragged it upstream slightly and into a shallow patch over a sandy bottom where I slipped the net over its head before it could take off.

This fish is the fattest I’ve caught in quite some time. It was a pig.

Unfortunately I was by myself, so the pictures aren’t exactly A grade… better than nothing though.

I left the fish in the net while I got the camera ready, and when I looked back at it there were a whole lot of earthworms in my net. The fish had been gorging itself on them, and it was so full that it regurgitated them in the net. No wonder it didn’t fight too much.

I carried on for quite some time after that, but failed to see another fish, even though the water looked really good. It was a long and cold walk back to the car in the wind and rain.

On the way home I stopped off for a quick look in a piece of dirty water. It was pretty filthy, but I couldn’t help myself.

I found a pool where a small stream was putting some cleaner water into the main flow. It mixed quickly with the dirty stuff, but it looked as good as anything around. I figured that I would probably hang out there if I was a fish, so i sent my fly into the current and hoped for the best.

Sure enough, there was a fish in there. I hooked it and landed it quickly. Fortunately for me and my net this one didn’t spew any earthworms.

That’s all for now. Its been a great start to the season so far… I’ve got a few more days before I have to go back to work, so hopefully I’ll be able to catch a few more fish soon. Fingers crossed for better weather!

5 responses

  1. OK Lucas, I’ll go back to work… for a while. Then I have most of November and a fair bit of December off. Can’t wait!

    Robert, you’ll exceed your luggage allowance for all those flies you’re bringing to NZ!

    October 7, 2011 at 1:58 pm

  2. Nice one Andrew. You’re right, you need to do some work!

    October 6, 2011 at 3:18 pm

  3. Dundee

    Very nice fat fish.Always wondered about murky water and that just the proof I need too keep me fishing when rivers a discolored.Cool stuff!

    October 6, 2011 at 10:54 am

  4. Nice one!

    October 6, 2011 at 7:55 am

  5. Robert

    Great day mate, thats a fat fish, going to tie a few earth worms for the trip now 🙂

    October 6, 2011 at 6:04 am

Leave a Reply

