Fresh water and salt water fly fishing in New Zealand and Australia. Brought to you by Riverworks waders, wading boots, vests, jackets, fly rods and reels.

Andrew Hearne – Fishing with Perez.


As Jack has already mentioned. It’s been snowing here… there’s heaps of the stuff. It was another cold night at work last night.

You may already be aware that we met a couple of American guys on one of our trips away earlier this year. Lucas and Isaiah are their names. Lucas had to disappear back to the States a short time after we met the guys, but we stayed in touch with Isaiah and went out fishing a few times.

By the time we met, Isaiah had caught a couple of nice fish, in fact when I saw a picture of one of them I was distinctly jealous! However for the most part it had been a tough trip for our American friends because of the poor weather the country was subjected to in the first few weeks of this year.

We had a great time fishing with Isaiah, and we even managed some fish. I hope to see both him and Lucas back here in the not too distant future so we can really show them what New Zealand has to offer.

This video clip is of some of our time spent with Isaiah… we even got him wearing a Riverworks hoodie for his memorable moment!

Lucas… you left for home too soon my friend!

7 responses

  1. I’d like to see some of these fish Lucas… as well as the mice and pink abominations they are caught on. I have a goal to catch fish on both those patterns this coming season.

    When can we expect to see you back here?

    August 2, 2011 at 9:36 pm

  2. I appreciate your thoughts and consideration anyway! So I’m making heaps of money working up in the Bush of Alaska right now, (read: No time off but plenty of willing rainbows and Dolly Varden on eggs, mice, and pink abominations), and I’ve got no plans for the winter. Who wants to get silly and quite honestly entirely unreasonable chasing fish with me??

    July 28, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    • Robert

      If you are planning a trip to NZ and want to fish, I will be there on the 16th november and staying for a month, so just let me know and I will meet up for some fishing.

      going to fish mostly by myself it seems but maybe I get Andew and Jack on this blog to accompany me on a trip or 2 I hope.

      Andrew, I can understand that, a very nice looking trout.
      I would want to catch one looking like that.

      August 1, 2011 at 12:19 am

  3. I agree Robert. That was one good looking fish… Myself and Jack were very envious when Isaiah caught that one.

    July 27, 2011 at 7:21 am

  4. Robert

    the trout at 1:36 in the video is probably the most awesome trout I have ever seen.
    the spots on it is just perfect.

    Congrats Perez to that amazing fish.

    heck all the fish are awesome but that one stands out a bit more 🙂

    July 26, 2011 at 9:35 pm

  5. Dundee

    Nice too see you fullas catch some small fish for a change.But theres still some beauties there well done.We had snow here too but not as bad as you guys.

    July 26, 2011 at 5:36 pm

  6. Epuck.

    July 26, 2011 at 10:18 am

Leave a Reply

