Fresh water and salt water fly fishing in New Zealand and Australia. Brought to you by Riverworks waders, wading boots, vests, jackets, fly rods and reels.

Jack Kos – Ci. Ca. Da.


Back in February I spent a day fishing a backcountry river with a couple of South African guys. Actually, only one of them survived the walk (it isn’t short…). Oh well, more fish for the two of us to fish to. Phil was the survivor, and he turned out to be a really top guy. Plus he could fish.

Things started slowly. We were fishing a coloured river, and although we could see fish they weren’t active in the cold morning temperatures. It wasn’t until the sun was a bit higher in the air that things started to change. It was like a switch flicked and flicked good. After lunch we fished to about 15 fish and hooked every single one of them. There was nothing small either. It was just magic. I dream of days like that. Oh, and the fly? Lets call it Andrew’s take on a cicada. Christ does it work.

For bizarre reasons that I won’t go into now, I’ve only got video of Phil fishing, and photos of my fish. So lets let the video do the talking for Phil…

As for me? I suppose I did alright.

 

 

Caught in the same lie that I pulled a much bigger fish from earlier in the season.

 

 

A casual cast revealed that this was not, in fact, a rock.

 

 

 

Last cast of the day. What a way to finish.

 

That was only about half of the fish from that day, it was truly spectacular. It’s days like this that I look back on with envy as I study for exams. No idea what’s happening with Uni after these latest aftershocks (btw hope that everyone out there is ok! All safe and sound at the wunder-flat). Apparently they’re letting us know tonight, but that doesn’t make it much easier to motivate myself to study. Andrew’s got a report for you guys coming up in the next week or so with another video from our season.

 

One last thing – if you haven’t already then join Riverworks (at http://www.facebook.com/riverworksnewzealand) and TwoTroutBums NZ (at http://www.facebook.com/twotroutbums.newzealandflyfishing) on Facebook. That way you’ll stay up to date and get all the good oil asap.

 

Till next time.

6 responses

  1. Dundee

    Well done!! Brilliant as always.Hope you fullas are safe in the shakey city.
    My family and I are wish you fullas there the best of luck.
    Checked out some northern waters ,prestine but never captured pics.

    June 15, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    • Cheers Dundee. All safe and sound at my flat. Exams have been rejigged, but that’s about the only effect I’ve felt.

      June 15, 2011 at 10:42 pm

  2. Phil Hills

    What a day… Thanks Jack for memories i’ll always treasure!

    June 15, 2011 at 2:36 am

    • Likewise Phil. It was special.

      June 15, 2011 at 10:42 pm

  3. Robert

    Great stuff Jack.

    June 14, 2011 at 6:46 pm

  4. I’m still angry I had to work that day. That’s not how it’s supposed to be… I’ll have you know that cicada pattern is copied from perhaps the best cicada imitation going around! (You should see my latest version though, it’s gonna slay them next summer!)

    June 14, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Leave a Reply

