Fresh water and salt water fly fishing in New Zealand and Australia. Brought to you by Riverworks waders, wading boots, vests, jackets, fly rods and reels.

Jack Kos – Fiordland Baby


First of all, sorry it’s been so long since I’ve posted on here. A combination of heaps of uni work and barely being out fishing means I’ve gotta trawl the past for this one a bit.

A couple of months back a couple of good mates and myself hit Fiordland. Hit it hard. I’ll let the photos do the talking, but god damn it was amazing. I think an annual tradition has started.

So here goes… Cheers to Chris Dore for the photos!!

On the way down to Te Anau Chris and I hit a remote stream. It’s possible that no-one has ever fished it before. Or not.

Yep, that’s one way to start a trip.

A late night with a bizarre combination of booze, oysters and ice cream saw us packing our bags quickly in the morning. Then the trek started. What a place we arrived at!

I suppose I see why people flock to Fiordland.

First fish of the trip. Oh alright, if I have to.

That night I did something silly. I went fishing. I felt like an idiot standing on a big corner pool casting as far out as I could and slowly letting my mouse swing in the current. Until I caught this…

God it was a buzz. Love it!

Self shots at night aren’t the easiest!!

I was so stoked with the night that I could barely sleep!

The next day was an absolute blast. I lost count of the number of 5lb+ rainbows I caught.

Chris and I got a double header early on.

Average scenery.

Solid condition

Dore with one of many. You’ve gotta work to get him in front of the camera!

A fish was spotted. Then I hooked it. While standing on a log. A slippery log.

I think Chris mentioned something about hoping I slipped and spread-legged the log. I didn’t. Instead I leapt in. It was pretty deep.

And cold.

But christ, what a fish!

One of the best rainbows I’ve had.

Had to sneak a cast under a VERY low branch to get this one. Chris has the footage somewhere. Satisfying.

This is how I roll.

Once my undies were dry I headed out for another night fish. Despite my best efforts I couldn’t convince the others to join me. Their loss.

Seriously solid brownie. (and yeah, I know I look like an idiot.)

The next day I managed one of the most nuggety browns I’ve had all season. Just short and deep.

Chubby wee thing.

Then Jeremy early released one…

We walked back out that day. I won’t go into details of what happened that night in Queenstown. Suffice it to say that I popped my fergburger cherry, woke up with a new t-shirt and one hell of a hangover.

We’ve got some great video footage for you guys over winter, so make sure you keep checking back in!

Jack

7 responses

  1. Nice. I’m not missing next years trip for anything, I’ll quit my job if I have to!

    I’m not sure about sharing each others undies though Jack. That doesn’t seem right to me.

    May 24, 2011 at 2:43 pm

  2. Communal fishing undergarments. The best kind of clothing.

    😉

    May 23, 2011 at 2:43 pm

  3. I’m saved by a technicality here… I don’t actually own those. They were borrowed/stolen from a mate. But point taken.

    May 23, 2011 at 12:55 pm

  4. You don’t own any striped polyprops?

    My mistake!

    May 23, 2011 at 12:47 pm

  5. Cheers guys, it was a really special trip.

    Chris – I don’t actually own any stripey polyprop leggings. It might be something I have to add to my arsenal. Purple, yellow and blue striped top, with green, orange and red leggings would just be camo to the MAX! With the undies over the top, batman style baby.

    Oh, and yeah the thing was initially mispublished – but look at it this way, now you get the excitement of reading it twice over.

    May 23, 2011 at 12:00 pm

  6. Anton Donaldson

    Seriously amazing pics Jack. looks like you had a great time in there!

    May 23, 2011 at 8:59 am

  7. Sick post.

    Although I had the pleasure of reading it on the 19th when it was mis-published? and ended up getting emailed to me.

    I felt pretty special.

    Anyways – I couldn’t help but notice that when you’re not wearing technicoloured striped polyprop leggings – you’ve got stripped undergarments instead.

    You should combine the two, could be a lethal combination.

    Just saying.

    May 23, 2011 at 8:54 am

Leave a Reply

