Fresh water and salt water fly fishing in New Zealand and Australia. Brought to you by Riverworks waders, wading boots, vests, jackets, fly rods and reels.

Jack Kos – The end is near…


The weather’s changing, and so’s the fishing. I’ve been back in Christchurch for a little over a week now and still haven’t had my first lecture. Two classes are being taught online and one has been postponed. All of this means that I have precisely one lecture per week. Ridiculous. If only the season wasn’t drawing towards its end.

 

I’ve managed to get out a few times since getting back, however none have been overly successful.

 

The first trip can be described rather simply.

 

Day 1: Andrew misreads the weather forecast. We walk out.

Day 2: Isaiah has an allergic reaction to a wasp. We walk out.

Day 3: I get my truck stuck. A tractor pulls us out.

 

I did vent a wee bit of frustration at a particularly stubborn fish that wasn’t playing ball.

Not my proudest moment.

 

We did manage a couple of fish in between the wind and the rock throwing.

 

A true trophy to start the day.

 

Look, it’s a real fish.

 

I spotted this fish from approximately 2m away.

 

The next day, after the incident with the wasp was dealt with, I managed this monster.

Huge.

 

That was pretty much it for that trip.

 

St Paddy’s day saw me in absolutely fine form. I’m not going to go into what I got upto that night, but suffice to say I had one hell of a hangover the next day.

 

Nothing like a bit of fishing to ward off hangovers though, so I took to the rivers with that old stalwart…the Grinch.

The fishing was a bit slow, but we both managed to connect to fish. Unfortunately Andrew’s fish, which naturally was larger than mine, did the dirty on him and snapped him off.

 

I managed a couple to the net before we commenced the walk home.

I’m not totally sure what I’m upto in this picture.

Satisfying fish. Filthy tactics.

 

That’s all for now. This weekend I’m heading into Fiordland for the first time with Chris Dore and Jeremy. Should be a sweet trip. Hopefully I’ll have a great report for you guys following that trip.

 

Jack

 

3 responses

  1. I didn’t notice the big pack until the last of the stone throwing pictures – talk about observation!

    I did exactly the same on St Paddy’s day, was the first big party on the foot after getting the cast off, did surprisingly all right.

    Gutted I can’t make the trip this weekend, have a blast – sure you guys will get on a lot of good fish.

    Scott

    March 24, 2011 at 10:45 pm

  2. Rudy

    Hi Jack,

    That fish you’re holding when up when you’re in your stripy johns is a stunning fish.

    Water also looks very cool.

    Much jealous.

    R

    March 22, 2011 at 9:25 pm

  3. Robert

    Awesome stuff.

    Thank god you left some clothes on!

    I wonder what was wrong with those 2 trouts, blind? or where they in spawning mode?

    I notice during spawning of trout here in sweden you can get really close to the fish and pick them up with your bare hands if you wanted to…

    March 21, 2011 at 11:43 pm

Leave a Reply

