Fresh water and salt water fly fishing in New Zealand and Australia. Brought to you by Riverworks waders, wading boots, vests, jackets, fly rods and reels.

Jack Kos – Let the fun begin…


The days before the start of the season pass by in somewhat of a trance. I should have been paying attention in lectures this week, but all I could think of was a large brown swinging in the current. If you manage to do anything productive in the days leading up to the 1st of October then you’re a better man than I.

Tomorrow will see me getting up at a disgustingly early hour, heading round to Andrew’s for a hearty breakfast and then beginning the long drive to our location. The goal is a small stream that I know for a fact holds some very large trout. I’ve had good success there in the early season regardless of weather conditions. The idea is to explore as much of the river as we possibly can, hopefully catching a fish or too along the way.

That night I’ve got to rush back to go to a friends 21st. I missed her 20th due to opening season last year, but I think I should probably attend this party seeing as I’m meant to be giving a speech. Think I’ll avoid going to town though considering that I’m planning on getting up at 4am to head back into the hills! I’ll either be by myself or with a mate slumming it in the car over night. At least this time my car will be a bit bigger than the one we slept in at the Tongariro. I’ll be exploring a bit of new water that hopefully won’t experience nearly so much pressure as some of the better known streams.

I don’t actually care too much about catching a fish. I just want to be back walking along the banks of a small stream trying to spot fish again. I’ve missed it. Oh god how I have missed it.

Best of luck for the new season. It’s going to be a great one.

Jack

2 responses

  1. Nicolas Laing

    That is awesome Jack, all power to you.

    September 30, 2010 at 8:38 pm

  2. jonathan

    Just as long as it’s not the same small stream I’ll be on. I’m going North.

    September 30, 2010 at 6:59 pm

Leave a Reply

